News

Chaos Challenge #5 Complete

The short story for the Chaos Challenge #5 is FINALLY complete! However I’m really not happy with how it turned out. In fact pretty much the only think I like about it is the fact I was able to write an explicit sex scene without completely shutting down. Whether that sex scene is any good… I have no idea.

So I feel the piece is in need of serious revision – especially since up to this point the stories I’ve outlined in advance and this one I didn’t do that, I pants it. So according to Scrivener it’s about 14k words long. I don’t think it’s really a short story anymore. The length is a non-issue for me since it was an exercise, but what’s the point of writing if you’re not going to make the effort of learning from it and becoming a better writer?

I debated long and hard as to whether or not to post this one, and whether or not to make it public. Ultimately I decided to make it public for a couple of reasons. One, it’s part of my journey as a writer. Two, I want to improve as a writer and that’s not going to happen if I don’t get feedback on it.

And the last part is, I wrote this during a hypomanic episode. It’s part of the reason I feel uneasy about sharing it. There is a sense of nakedness with the way my mind works in letting people see this. BUT as any writer I would like to be published at some point which means I need to get used to people seeing inside my head – and not just when I’m well. I need to learn how to cope and be functional as a professional writer in all states of mind.

So hear it is and I hope it’s not too terrible.

The Demons that We Become

Leave a Reply

